The sheer number of videos we’ve received this spring from concerned parents and coaches confirms for us that Malicious Contact isn’t being called consistently at any level of baseball (this isn’t confined to just High School).
With that said, this play will challenge any level of umpire. Some things to consider when watching this video:
- Look at where the throw takes the catcher – does this cause the catcher to move into the path of R2?
- Does R2 have any option BUT to run over F2?
- Could contact have been avoided?
- Was the contact malicious in nature?
- Could this have been obstruction? What about interference?
- Was the catcher “in the act of receiving the baseball”? (when you comment on this please make sure you identify the level of baseball you’re working)
- What would you do (if anything at all) after seeing R2 jump up “looking for a fight”?
- Anyone penalizing F1?
- Anyone getting an ejection? More than one?