Runner Interference with fly ball….would you call it?
This is one of those “seldom seen” plays. You know — the ones we hear or talk about, but never actually see. Do you know the rule concerning a runner’s “right” to occupy the base? Are you sure? Does the runner have an “absolute right” to the base? On this play, who is the “protected” [...]
Ball, Balk, Huh?
Have you ever seen this before? How does this play develop if: 1. He had let go of the ball and thrown it right into his glove? 2. He dropped it at the end of all of this (instead of holding on to it?) 3. Is the ruling on this particular play different [...]
When does a Questionable Slide become Illegal?
I’ve watched this slide quite a few times before deciding to ask for your opinions. Things I saw: 1. He slid “away” from the fielder 2. He didn’t throw his hands up in the air (they look like they’re in front of his face) 3. It doesn’t look egregious to me… Would you have let [...]
When Has a Runner “Obtained” a Base?
This is a user-submitted question from Brad in Texas. If you have an umpiring question you’d like answered, simply email ask@UmpHub.com. I’m really enjoying the information UmpHub is providing!!! I go to the site just about everyday to see what is new. I have a situation I’d like to throw out there about something [...]
The Definition of Obstruction
If you were teaching a new Umpire the definition of obstruction, what would you say? If they showed you a video like this, would your definition of obstruction change? NFHS Rule 2-22 ART. 1 . . . Obstruction is an act (intentional or unintentional, as well as physical or verbal) by a fielder, any member of [...]
To Signal or Not to Signal, That is the Question
I’m as big a fan of girls’ softball as I am of my annual prostate exam but there is a lot to be discussed in this particular play. 1. Why in the world did this umpire signal safe? 2. Is this a situation that even counts as an “appeal”? 3. Doesn’t the runner have to [...]
R.I.P. 3rd to 1st
Last week Major League Baseball voted to make the 3rd to 1st move by Right Handed Pitchers a balk starting next season. Anyone else hoping that this stupid move is outlawed at the High School and College level soon too? Is MLB stepping over the line? Is this move “part of the game”? BTW – [...]
Confusion at 3rd: Who’s Got the Right?
There’s no question: players don’t know the rules very well. What do you see in this video? What responsibility does the umpire have to “protect” base runners? Should he have called ‘Time’ to keep R3 from walking off the bag? Do you like the mechanic that U3 used in pointing at the runners? Was the [...]
Who’s On 3rd?
This is absolutely my favorite video. Keep your eyes everlasting on the ball, right? But when shouldn’t you? NFHS: 8-2 ART. 8 . . . A runner acquires the right to the proper unoccupied base if he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to this base until he is put out, or until [...]